Chapter 16: Confusing Belle

“Come on baby, come to mommy.” I called to the young girl who was hardly arms width away. I watched as she stumbled adorably to her feet.

“Mama!” she exclaimed as she got closer. Her eyes sparkled and she had that adorable smile on her face. Something about the young girl was simply precious and I could hardly believe I had her.

Upon reaching me she clumsily fell into my waiting arms. I caught her, as I always would, picking her up I chuckled as she yawned. “I do believe it’s bed time.” She smiled at me with those innocent eyes again and I hoisted her up and began walking to her bedroom.

After tucking the tyke into her pink jumper I placed her lovingly into the warm mattress in her crib. “Goodnight, my little Rosie.” I told her.

“Ni’ ni’, mommy.” She caressed my hand with her tiny and warm hands before I pulled away from her and walked back down the stairs. Leaving Ambrosia to sleep while Chip and I ate dinner.

Chip and I ate relatively quickly, leaving us time to discuss matters that were coming up.

“It’s Nathan’s 5th birthday tomorrow.” I reminded him, remembering the invite we had received from Gwen who had surprisingly become closer to me after Amrosia’s birth.

“I know.” he answered, he smiled, though he still seemed dazed, as if his mind were on other matters. “I went out and got his present while you were at work yesterday…” he continued.

“That’s good.” I gave him a strange look. Deciding to just brush his tone off as him being tired I smiled and continued, “Can you believe our little Rosie’s turning 3 in a couple months?” I asked him.

He sighed and looked at me, “I really can’t…” he answered, “I feel like it was only yesterday she was born and now she’s growing up.”

“Are you alright?” I asked him. He seemed down, which really wasn’t too common for Chip.

He stood up and I responded by standing up with him, putting myself in front of him I looked at him closely. He smiled at me before he spoke. “Just have a lot on my mind.” He told me. “I love you, Belle.”

“I love you too, Chip…” I answered as I waited for him to continue.

I was slightly disappointed when all he further responded with was, “Tomorrow’s going to be a big day for everyone. We should get so sleep.” I watched as he walked past me and up the stairs to our room. His tone and sudden mood swings were confusing me and I was getting worried. I loved Chip dearly but I was so confused on what was going on.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment